index | search | no replies | posting guidelines | help login | register
Index » Products » ASP Report Wizard v2
search this forum:
:: newbie connection question, clarion topspeed :: (7)Post a New Message | Post a Reply
Jul 15 2005, 7:18 AM
 newbie connection question, clarion topspeed Post a Reply
 gregmuir

View this author's profile Send this author a private message

since: Jul 15, 2005
from: Sunny, Hurricane-prone Florida

So, this is how I make the program connect to my database.

<%

Dim objWiz
Set objWiz = Server.CreateObject("AspWebSolution.ReportWizard2")
    
'Make sure you initialize before adding any HTML text
'TODO: Change this to your actual connection tring
objWiz.Init("PROVIDER=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;DATA SOURCE=D:\Databases\nwind.mdb;")
    
'put this where you want your reports
objWiz.DisplayReports
    
Set objWiz = Nothing

%>


I know the provider I'm using, Topspeed by Clarion. I have the Topspeed ODBC driver already installed. Where would I find the exact name to specify as the source?

I know it's a very n00b question but it's been a long week.

Jul 15 2005, 8:15 AM
 Re: newbie connection question, clarion topspeed Post a Reply
 ghost

View this author's profile Send this author a private message Visit author's homepage

from: Washington, DC

We haven't tested with TopSpeed but normally all ODBC drivers should work.

Using an ODBC DSN (Data Source Name) is a two step process.

1) You must first create the DSN via the "ODBC Data Source Administrator" program found in your computer's Control Panel (or Administrative Tools menu in Windows 2000). Make sure to create a SYSTEM DSN (not a USER DSN) when using ASP. You can also create the DSN via Visual Basic code.

2) Then use the following connection string - with your own DSN
name of course.

DSN
oConn.Open "DSN=mySystemDSN;" & _
           "Uid=myUsername;" & _
           "Pwd=myPassword
"

File DSN
oConn.Open "FILEDSN=c:\somepath\mydb.dsn;" & _
           "Uid=myUsername;" & _
           "Pwd=myPassword"





-------------------------
Ghost
Jul 15 2005, 10:40 AM
 Re: newbie connection question, clarion topspeed Post a Reply
 gregmuir

View this author's profile Send this author a private message

since: Jul 15, 2005
from: Sunny, Hurricane-prone Florida

Thanks for the reply! It occured to me that I should probably step back and try the baby steps first, i.e. create a page that connects to the database and displays one table. If that doesn't work, then I know the problem is a lot more fundamental than ASP Wizard.

Microsoft OLE DB Provider for ODBC Drivers error '80004005'

[SoftVelocity Inc.][TopSpeed ODBC Driver][ISAM]ISAM Table Not Found

/index.asp, line 18

So, no complaints about my connections but it needs the ISAM table. I'm trying to find info on that right now. Looks like this is something squirrely relating to the database format. More reading required.

Jul 15 2005, 10:48 AM
 Re: newbie connection question, clarion topspeed Post a Reply
 gregmuir

View this author's profile Send this author a private message

since: Jul 15, 2005
from: Sunny, Hurricane-prone Florida

The Microsoft pages are talking about installable ISAM drivers and that doesn't make any sense. I have the latest ODBC driver for the database and can query in Excel just fine, no problems.

Jul 15 2005, 11:16 AM
 Re: newbie connection question, clarion topspeed Post a Reply
 ghost

View this author's profile Send this author a private message Visit author's homepage

from: Washington, DC

Try the latest version 2.5.56 and let me know if anything helps


-------------------------
Ghost
Jul 15 2005, 11:53 AM
 Re: newbie connection question, clarion topspeed Post a Reply
 gregmuir

View this author's profile Send this author a private message

since: Jul 15, 2005
from: Sunny, Hurricane-prone Florida

The problem isn't on your end, it's on mine. IMAP is the format the tps database is in. There's one piece of the puzzle I'm missing here, something that should make everything fall into place. The only problem, topspeed (the database format) is obscure so there's not a whole lot of info out there on the web. If we were connecting to something mainstream, we'd no longer be having this conversation, we'd be on to the next step. :)

Nov 18 2009, 2:33 AM
 Re: newbie connection question, clarion topspeed Post a Reply
 MikevHoenselaar

View this author's profile Send this author a private message Visit author's homepage

since: Nov 18, 2009
from: Netherlands

Did anyone find the asnwer yet?

We too installed the Topspeed ODBC driver and made a System DSN.

We would like to connect to the DB with PHP. We use the connectionstring:

Driver={SoftVelocity Topspeed driver Read-Only (*.tps)};DSN=DSNNAME;Extension=tps;DBQ=\\mdhq01\bac5$\DATABASENAME

Is there anybody that can help??

Pages: (1)   [1]

search this forum: